Saudi Arabia has reacted to a newly discovered Coronavirus mutation


Suspension of flights from seven South African countries by Saudi government due to the discovery of an Omicron – a new variant of Covid-19. It is considered more dangerous than the known strains caused by the greater number of mutations – about 32 variants. The new strain of coronavirus has been confirmed with more than 100 cases.

Due to the threat of the proliferation of Omicron, all flights from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Botswana to Saudi Arabia will be suspended. An official source in the Ministry of the Interior said that the decision concerns foreigners who came directly or indirectly from the mentioned African states, with the exception of those who spent at least 14 days in another country.

All people arriving from these countries, including the Saudis, are subject to five-day quarantine measures, regardless of their immunization status. The source explained that all procedures are subject to constant reassessment by the competent health authorities of the Kingdom in accordance with the development of the epidemiological situation around the world.
Officials are warning citizens and residents to avoid traveling to the designated South African countries until the situation is clarified.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here